Due Justice

Due Justice

By Diane Capri

  • Release Date: 2011-07-04
  • Genre: Mysteries & Thrillers
Score: 4
4
From 61 Ratings
Download Now
The file download will begin after you complete the registration. Downloader's Terms of Service | DMCA

Description

New York Times and USA Today Bestselling Author DIANE CAPRI Returns with a Willa Carson Thriller!

For fans of Lee Child, John Grisham, Jack Reacher and Michael Connelly

"Full of thrills and tension - but smart and human too." —Lee Child , #1 New York Times Bestselling Author of Jack Reacher Thrillers

When a famous plastic surgeon’s decomposed body surfaces in Tampa Bay with a bullet in its head, Federal Judge Willa Carson’s “little sister” is caught in a high-stakes game of greedy lawyers, blackmail and deceit. Carly Austin knew the victim too well. Does she know too much about the killer, too? Before Willa discovers the answer, Carly disappears. Can Willa save Carly from herself and the murderous conspiracy? Or have they killed Carly, too?

Free-sprited Judge Wilhelmina Carson is quick, witty and stubborn. She finds nothing is what it seems in a world where attractive women with enough money are made, not born, and beauty can cost your life. Judge Willa debuts in this fast-paced mystery filled with great characters, humor and suspense.

*formerly titled “Carly’s Conspiracy”

Reviews

  • Due justice

    5
    By Nutty boys
    I truly enjoyed this book from front to back. The underlying humor put many smiles on my face. I really enjoy humor and suspense when they both appear in a book.
  • Due Justice

    5
    By mily818
    This is the first of Diane Capri's books that I have read. I enjoyed in thoroughly. It is the first book in a long time that I couldn't put down from the first page to the last. I'm on to my next one! Thank you, Ms Capri.
  • Good series

    4
    By Lifes Good Journey
    This is book #1 in the Hunt for Justice series, and it was enjoyable. I read it as part of the Licensed to Thrill 3 trilogy. Judge Wilhelmina “Willa” Carson lives a fabulous life on her own island in Florida, with her loving husband restaurateur George Carson. Due Justice opens with Willa’s sister Carly Austin, (they grew up together after Willa’s mom died when Willa was 16, and her step-father took off and left her with the Austin family), reveals that she may know the identity of the body that was just fished out of the water in Tampa Bay. As Willa is a local judge, and Carly is a lawyer, they are ethically obligated to report what they know to the local authorities, but they don’t. Carly’s way of handling things is to take off and hide. Willa is very curious and uses this and her power as a judge to investigate Carly’s story. The problem with this is Carly is not totally open and honest with Willa. She definitely has some secrets in her life that Willa isn’t aware of. Willa’s social circle, and work associates all seem to be tied in to the conspiracy Carly has revealed. Carly is a lawyer for a breast implant manufacturer who is facing many lawsuits. The founders of this company are three doctors with many problems of their own, including infidelity, theft, drugs and blackmail. As Willa investigates the murder, she uncovers much drama and many secrets surrounding the victim. The characters are believable, but not the type of people I care to associate with. They are arrogant, rich, selfish and not afraid to bend the rules, and a lot of bed hopping. There are a few twists and turns in the book, but I wasn’t on the edge of my seat to see what would come next. Murder, blackmail and suicide give Diane Capri plenty to write about. There was no foul language, and it’s a pretty G rated book. There is one scene of violence, but it is written very mildly, with no suspense. There are some typo’s of incomplete sentences that kept frustrating me, but I kept going. It’s not a quick read, Diane Capri’s writing styIe gives plenty of description which can sometimes slow the plot down. I believe you can read this book out of sequence in the series and not lose too much. Diane Capri does a good job of developing Willa’s character and gives a lot of information about her life, her island, George, and Willa’s job as a judge. Willa has a strong relationship with Carly’s mother, Kate, and Willa refers to her as her soul-mother. Kate shows up again in book #2, but not much in book #3. Carly doesn’t come back in either one. There are a few other characters that carry over to the other books in the series. I was given a copy of this book by the author, in exchange for my honest review.
  • Boring

    1
    By Number 1bookworm!
    What is more boring than golf? Reading about a golf game. I almost feel like the interesting parts to this story were taken out leaving the boring fillers. Good to read before bed it puts you to sleep.
  • A wonderful surprise

    4
    By JeremyKTyler
    I picked this book up expecting a cozy little mystery. What I got was a thoroughly entertaining look at Tampa society, from someone who clearly knows the city's unique history. The mystery is well thought out, and the twists are certainly enough to keep you guessing. Can't wait to start the next book!

keyboard_arrow_up